And This Is All I Have To Show For My Sixty Dollar Co-Pay ~

 

So, I’ve been sick like….well all year. I’m the only person in my family that takes Juice Plus, drinks wheat grass, kale, and spinach, finds my Om’ and continues to house every possible virus that needs a place to dwell. My taco bell eating, not so namaste’, wheat grass despising friends …not so much. They are all healthy and totally annoying the shit out of me.  Catch something already.  So I went to my doctor yesterday to make sure I don’t have some rare disease—no I’m not being dramatic, I haven’t disclosed all of my symptoms. That would be awkward…. Anyways, I’m at the doctor’s office, the one I always swear I’m never going to again, because I’m always seen about 40 minutes past my appointment time….and patience is like the only thing I’ve never caught and it’s super rude.  Who has time to wait 40 minutes?  I mean besides me. EVERY TIME. For about 13 years… But, I love him and he comes in the room and I’m totally over it.  I love him because he gets me.  And I don’t even get me.  So his presence in my life is kinda necessary. Oh, and just to clarify this is my primary care doc. not a psychiatrist.  However he handles both positions.  Maybe I stay because I don’t have the energy to start over— explaining stuff to someone new.  I’m busy with other things.  Like sitting in his waiting room. When he walks in the first thing he says to me is, “So did you start teaching yoga?” Ummmmm…what? Did I say that?  Of course I did. After I took like my first yoga lesson I wanted to become a yoga teacher and wear lululemon clothes around town nibbling on kale chips, acting all balanced and zen.  Then I remembered I had a job and reports that were way late and clients booked out until the end of the year and meetings to prepare for. He looked at me like….duh I knew the answer –I’m just humoring myself.  Because he knows me well, I’m always looking for something new. I should totally ask to read my chart and see what things he has listed….all of my whimsical moments over the years.  Which many I have completed by the way.  Thank you 🙂 Except like organic composting and converting to Judaism. So that leads me to the point of my blog.  Change.  I know, you are rolling your eyes thinking –long story longer…..but as many of you know I used to be terrified of change.  I mean hello, I live 15 minutes from where I went to elementary school, 10 from my high school, the above doctor was actually my pediatrician,  hahha, just kidding…but you get my point.  After I left my appointment yesterday I realized that the older I get, the more comfortable I am with change.  Including exploring new things, deciding what I want or do not.  Regardless of fear or pleasing anyone else.  I no longer stay in situations that don’t suit me or stay in relationships that have no purpose.  I choose my friends wisely (remember I need soup often). The saying you become like the 5 people you spend the most time with. Choose wisely. Couldn’t be more correct.  Some relationships, including family, aren’t meant to be, or are not repairable, and one of the hardest things in life is letting go of what you thought was real. but you must. Life is short and we realize this more with every passing year. So change better be an option. Our kids will leave and live their own lives and we better find and create one we love. And if I decide to be a yoga teaching, organic composting, jew…..Don’t worry…I’ll still be the one who makes your skin the best it’s ever looked.  Because in all of my life dabbling’s. Catching greased pigs and skin care are my forte’. Like I should get a medal for both. Oh wait… I do. And why am I always sick lately?  Well obviously my doctor didn’t have time to go over that. He was running like 40 minutes late for his next patient. Happy Sunday!

Love you all ~ Lisa

One thought on “And This Is All I Have To Show For My Sixty Dollar Co-Pay ~”

  1. You and I should talk. I’ve been sick for almost as long. I went gluten free and that helped a LOT I stopped drinking and I’m not sure that it’s helped, but I”m not hurt 😉 Choose wisely. I like that. In the past I thought I had and then they just disappeared into thin air… Perhaps I was not in their top 5. That’s a hard lesson that keeps on giving. Keep learning. Keep doing weird things. Keep finding fascination in life. I want to paint, teach yoga, garden and do math…… yeah that’s weird too. I need to get Jaida into see you… I’m not sure what it means to catch a greased pig ( I think I missed a post) but I have an 8 year old at 53 so I have a feeling…. Keep being the you that only your Dr gets. You’ll never be bored and neither will your friends!

Leave a Reply

